البداية

في عام 1997، بعد ما كان لبنان قد شهد حربا أهلية استمرت 18 عاما خلّفت حالة من الدمار الشديد، شعر الدكتور فؤاد مخزومي بإيمان راسخ ورغبة شديدة في تمكين المواطنين من خلال تحسين الآفاق الإقتصادية والمهنية في سبيل تحقيق الاستقلالية والاكتفاء الذاتي. وتحت الشعار الأول “اللبنانيون معاً من جديد” . شكّل الطريق نحو النجاح الذي نسير به اليوم وقدم المساعدة للمواطنين ليعبروا عن مشاكلهم ويحققوا طموحاتهم.

فؤاد مخزومي، المؤسس

أدركت منذ سن مبكرة، أنه من الصعب بناء وطن مزدهر مادمنا نقسّم أنفسنا وفقاً لانتماءاتنا الطائفية، أو مكانتنا الاجتماعية، أوميولنا السياسية. فما يوحّد شعبنا في بلد متنوع دينياً واجتماعياً واقتصادياً كلبنان، هو الشعور بالانتماء لوطننا الحبيب. لذلك يجب علينا أن نعمل سويًا من خلال العامل المشترك الذي يجمع بيننا وهو وطننا وازدهاره.

أدّت  التحديات التي واجهتها في حياتي دوراً أساسياً في تحديد وجهة نظري وتشكيل وطنيّتي.  فأنا  أعمل باستمرار على تعزيز قوميّتي العميقة الجذور، خاصة من خلال عمل مؤسسة مخزومي، وأعتقد أن حب الوطن هو مايجمع الشعب اللبناني. ان مؤسسة مخزومي والإسهامات القيمّة التي حققناها، ولانزال نحققها، قد صنعت معنى حقيقياً لهدفنا الأسمى الذي يتجاوز حدود الأطر الطائفية.

مي مخزومي، رئيسة المؤسسة

رأت مؤسسة مخزومي النور عام 1997 مبنيّة على رؤية تفوق الوصف لمؤسسها فؤاد مخزومي، الذي أحاط نفسه بفريق من الأفراد المتفانين، والشغوفين، والملتزمين بتحقيق كل ما أنجزته المؤسسة منذ بداياتها المتواضعة.

نحن في مؤسسة مخزومي وضعنا آمالاً كبيرة على تحقيق مهمتنا، ونعمل بجد لنصل إلى الرؤية التي نصبو إليها. ان الهيكلة الدقيقة لبرامجنا هي أمر ضروري كي نضمن ان جهودنا ستساهم بشكل ملموس في تقدّم وطننا ككل، من خلال إحداث تغيير في حياة كل من نقوم بدعمه.

إضافة إلى ذلك، كانت مؤسسة مخزومي قد اتخذت خطوات كبيرة لتعزيز مكانة المرأة وزيادة الفرص المتاحة لها بشكل عام في لبنان، حتى قبل قرار الأمم المتحدة الألفي عام 2000 الذي دعا إلى تطوير المجتمع المدني من خلال تعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين وتمكين المرأة بارتيادها مجال العمل. لا تزال هذه المساعي أولوية بالنسبة لنا، بالإضافة الى إتاحة الفرصة لشباب بلدنا لتعلّم التقنيات الجديدة التي تمكّنهم من تحسين أوضاعهم الاقتصادية والاجتماعية ويشكل هذا أيضا جانباً مهماً من قرار الأمم المتحدة الألفي. ومع إيلاء اهتمام خاص بالبيئة، فإننا نساهم أيضاً في جهود الأمم المتحدة لحماية البيئة في لبنان.

ومع كل هذه الإنجازات، فإن عملنا قد بدأ لتوّه؛ نحن نصبو بجرأة إلى تحقيق المزيد من الإنجازات في السنوات القادمة نحو مستقبل أكثر إشراقاً للبنان والشعب اللبناني.

مؤسسة مخزومي اليوم

بعد 20 عاما من الانجازات الرائدة، تطورت مؤسسة مخزومي من خلال مرورها بالعديد من المراحل الهامة على أساس احتياجات المجتمع.

اليوم أصبحنا متطورين في أعمالنا عل المستوى الوطني وتوسع نطاق خدماتنا من بيروت إلى جبل لبنان، الشمال، الجنوب، والبقاع. كل منطقة في لبنان هي الآن نقطة محورية لحملاتنا وخدماتنا وأنشطتنا.

WHERE IT ALL STARTED?
In 1997, as Lebanon was emerging from the stems of the devastating 18-years civil war, Lebanese Dr. Fouad Makhzoumi was convicted that the community needs empowering resources to rebuild and jump start its economy and educational systems. With the first motto that says LEBANESE TOGETHER AGAIN, he initiated the road to where we stand now in helping thousands of citizens to voice their concerns and practice their aspirations.

Fouad Makhzoumi, Founder of Makhzoumi Foundation

From an early age, it became apparent to me that in order to build a nation, we cannot successfully govern ourselves according to the biased influence of sects, social standing, or political ideologies. In a country as socioeconomically and religiously diverse as Lebanon, what unifies our people must be a greater sense of belonging to our beloved nation. We must be driven, together, by the common factor that unites us: our homeland and its prosperity.
The challenges I have encountered throughout my life have played an integral role in determining my perspective and shaping my patriotism. I continuously strive to build upon my deep-rooted nationalism, especially through the work of the Makhzoumi Foundation, and believe all Lebanese people desire to love their country as one. The Makhzoumi Foundation and the valuable contributions we have made, and continue to make, have created a true sense of purpose that extends far beyond the limiting frameworks of sectarianism.
In order for anyone to achieve authentic self-actualization, one must realize himself/herself as unique part of a nation and must contribute his/her unique talents, without prejudice reservation, towards the enrichment of that nation. My personal vision is not one of sacrifice but one of duty. It is with this vision, I hope, the Makhzoumi Foundation inspires every Lebanese to rise above sectarianism and progress towards fulfilling our civic and humanitarian duty to take care of our country and every person who calls it “home”.

May Makhzoumi, President of Makhzoumi Foundation

In 1997, the Makhzoumi Foundation was established by Dr. Fouad Makhzoumi, with a vision so much larger than a dream. He surrounded himself with a dedicated team of individuals that is passionate and committed to realizing everything that the Foundation has accomplished since its humble beginnings.

We at Makhzoumi Foundation have set our hopes high on achieving our mission and work relentlessly to fulfil our vision. The meticulous structuring of our programs is vital to ensuring that the intentions of our efforts tangibly contribute to the progress of the country, as whole, by making a difference in the lives of everyone we support.

Additionally, even before the United Nations Millennium Declaration of 2000 called for the development of civil society by promoting gender equality and empowering women via the labor force, the Makhzoumi Foundation was already making great strides to elevate the status of and increase the overall opportunity of women in Lebanon. These endeavours remain a priority for us, along with giving our country’s youth access to new technologies that can enhance their socioeconomic condition – also an important facet of the UN Millennium Declaration. With important regard to the environment, we are contributing to the UN’s efforts to protect Lebanon’s environment, as well.
We have gone way ahead since our inception, with extended area of presence, variety of services and number of beneficiaries. We are still pioneers in Lebanon to abide and follow closely the UN resolutions the last which is about Sustainable Development in all fields and we will work reluctantly towards Global Citizenship, the goal for 2020.
Our daring vision is to be great contributors to the advancement of Lebanon for a brighter future for its people.

MAKHZOUMI FOUNDATION TODAY

After 20 years of pioneering achievements, Makhzoumi Foundation has been through many important phases based on community needs.
Today we have gone National and expanded our services from Beirut to Mount Lebanon, North, South, and Bekaa. Each region in Lebanon is now a focal point for our campaigns, services and activities.